OT: What is wrong w/people?

Tatia E.
on 8/20/04 3:15 pm
Hi, First time on this forum. Looking for fellowship. I work in customer service. I find my job to be more and more challenging everyday. I have been doing this for 16yrs. But people today are different. It*s a "Me" World. I try and treat people like I would want to be treated. And I get accused that I don*t care. I drove home crying my eyes out. We are short on staff. I have to do the work of 2 sometimes 3 people. And not only are the customers cold and rude. Co workers treat one another this way. I feel so unappreciated. Tonight I had to deal with a group of 103 people at once. Everyone demanding my attention . Pushing people out of the way to get to me. I called for help (supervisors). No one even responded to my call. Then when the dust seem to clear it did not get any better. A co worker ask me for something. I could not do for him at that moment.He got an attitude and stormed off. He said Your not getting help from me til I get what I want! The scarey thing is I see this in my five yr daughter. Demanding her way! Screaming and hitting me. Whining like she is a baby. I know she is spoiled. And maybe some of this is her age. But she is driving us nuts. Her baby brother yells at her to "Stop". I did not mean for this to be so long...I am just so frustrated. I don*t want to become cold and heartless. But it seems if you yell back at these people they leave you alone. If you try and treat them with kindness they walk all over ya. Any words of encouragement are appreciated. Signed, A sad soul
Geralyn
on 8/21/04 8:56 am - San Diego, CA