Any Suggestions?

Trish L.
on 8/16/04 4:44 am - Bucyrus, OH
Hi, My name is Trish & I am a Christian. I am 48 years old. I am new to all this, so if I ask a stupid question, I beg your forgiveness in advance. For more than a year now, I have been reading about Lap Banding. I have a BMI of 54.9. I recently have been diagnosed with high blood pressure, TIA's & my blood sugars are starting to rise. I also have degenerative arthritis of my lower spine. I need help. I really want to have the lap banding procedure. I feel this would be my best option. Problem is, I do not have insurance. I was working, but due to my husband's declining health, I had to quit my job to stay home and care for him. The added stress is unreal. I keep reading about the cost of surgery , trying to find a way to pay for this, but there is no way I could ever afford to pay for this surgery without insurance. We are living on my husband's social security. I look at all the before and after pictures and I am amazed at the differences. I have never been a normal size. Now, I find I am getting depressed because I realize that I cannot afford the very thing that can help me and I also realize that if I do not get this weight off, when I do get opportunity to go back to work, I may not be physically able to to so. My health is just starting to deteriorate and I need a way to at least slow it down. I know the weight just makes things so much worse. It seems I am doomed to live my life trapped in this obese body. Any suggestions?
Shirlene H.
on 8/16/04 4:55 am - Van Etten, NY
Hi Trish... Welcome to the Christian Message Board! So sorry to here of your dilemma. I really don't have any advice to offer regarding payment (unless of course you could go through social services?), but I do want to offer you up a prayer! Tri****otally believe that if this be God's will, he will make a way for you! With God, all things are possible! Please don't give up hope and continue to visit us here. God Bless! Shirlene