New to the site

nsummer
on 11/18/05 11:49 am - Scottsdale, AZ
Hello to all, I'm new to the site (been reading for a couple of weeks but this is my first time posting). Today I got a date of 12/7 with Dr. Kieran. I've been fighting to get this surgery for 3 years. After all that time, the Dr. submitted the request on Monday and I was approved on Thursday. Now I'm scheduled for 20 days out. What a great time to get cold feet! Thanks to everyone who posts... it really helps to be able to read about your experiences. If anyone has any pearls of wisdom, I'd be very happy to hear them. NS
Do-over Girl
on 11/19/05 10:44 am - Tempe, AZ
Well, first I would like to say, Welcome Nathaniel! We are a friendly and informative bunch. Wow, I am happy to see that you were approved so quickly and got a date that fast! That is amazing! And yet, as I can see a bit scary as well. What are you most concerned with? There is plenty of wisdom and guidance here on the site...feel free to ask away. I had my surgery 3 months ago (it is still strange to say that!) with Dr. Blackstone. I have also seen Dr. Kieran and Dr. Koler on some of my visits. They are all wonderful docs.
nsummer
on 11/19/05 1:46 pm - Scottsdale, AZ
Hi Jmf, Yes, my approval was amazingly fast. I had heard good things about Empire BCBS and they really came through. Some questions that are still nagging me.... 1. I am a single parent with 2 kids 11 & 13. At what point should I expect to be able to resume caring for them (cooking, laundry etc)? I have alot of help available but I'd like to be able to give them some real idea of how long I will need them. 2. Is there anything you wish you had done before hand that you didn't know to do? Any suggestions for preparation? The rest of my fear is just that... fear. I've never spent a night in the hospital, never had any surgery, and when they gave me the date, it suddenly became very real. I'm not as up tight as I was yesterday and I hope tomorow will be better still. ns
Pamela E.