ferrous gluconate iron 324 mg

Sandy in Tucson
on 11/12/05 9:09 am - Tucson, AZ
Has anyone taken this? It was ordered by Emile for me yesterday because my blood work, the iron levels were a little low normal. The pill is round and green sugar coated. Does it absorb? I took it on a empty tummy...omg I got sick fast. I will call the pharmacy tomorrow on how I should take it. I threw all the literature away. Not real smart!!! Is anyone else taking this prescription for iron? Sandy in Tucson
Kathy S.
on 11/12/05 10:03 am - PHX, AZ
Sandy, I have not taken Ferrous Gluconate but I am a licensed Pharmacy Technician. Did you take this with a full glass of water? If you have stomach upset it can be taken after meals or with food. I would call your PA up and advise him/her of what happened. Even store bought Iron sups can cause havoc on the stomach. Maybe you would tolerate a liquid form of an iron supplement better. Hope you feel better! Kathy
Sandy in Tucson
on 11/12/05 11:08 am - Tucson, AZ
TY for the reply....I used some water...but was afraid it would pass my stomach to fast...I guess it sat there and made me ill. Next time, more water. ty. I will call on Monday.....to ask a few questions about this Rx...Sandy in Tucson
Trisha
on 11/12/05 11:19 am - Glendale, AZ