How long off work?

Donna P.
on 6/27/05 6:49 am - Taylor, AZ
I just have a question about how long everyone was off work? I am a office manager and I will, by surgery date be able to work on my computer from home. But I just wondering how long of a recovery you all had. Thanks for all the support and great info. Donna
Darlene X
on 6/27/05 7:51 am - Maricopa, AZ
My sister in law (21) had laproscopic and was back at work a week after surgery. My Mother in law (50's) had laproscopic and was back at work part time after 2 weeks. Then full time after 3 weeks.
Brandy H
on 6/27/05 10:39 am - Glendale, AZ
i have asked this question a few times myself... and everyone has told me that it varies individually and that it depends on your kind of work and how much physical activity you do. Personally, i am on my feet for usually 10-12 hours a day. i am taking about 2 1/2 weeks off starting the day before surgery... then when i come back i am going to only work 4 hours a day for the next 2 weeks and then add an hour (making it 5 hours) the next and then so on. i know that if it is laproscopic/vs open it will make a difference also and how quick you heal. hope it helps although it is a bit vague.
Angels4unme
on 6/27/05 12:13 pm - Roswell, NM
I have a desk job and was off for three weeks after Lap RNY. I could have gone back at two weeks. The sooner you are up and around after surgery the better off you will be. Good luck and God Bless your journey.. Terri 303/135
tamschief1
on 6/28/05 1:42 am - Flagstaff, AZ
I was off 1 full week. I had my surgery the Thurs. before. I went back to work the 2nd week for about 3-4 hrs/day. I also work at a desk. I think you will not have any trouble working from home. I could not sit still. I wanted to get up and moving. Good luck. When is your date? Tammy
Donna P.
on 6/28/05 1:54 am - Taylor, AZ