I'm a Newbie

DacB
on 5/26/05 3:49 am - Mesa, AZ
Hi, I'm new to this site and to the WLS process. I've been reading everyone's posts and have found all of your experiences so informational. Yesterday was my consultation with my surgeon. I'll be working with Dr. Villares at the Bridges Center in St. Lukes. He's very nice and I loved his bedside manner. I had completed the psych test, my hand was numb by the end, and had met with Dr. Maxwell on Monday. She will not clear me for surgery until I work with my therapist on Behavior Modification and apparently she feels I'm showing enough sever signs of depression to want me to work with a psychiatrist for meds. I'm more than happy to work on behavior mod. as this is a lifelong commitment. And I'm okay with the meds, but I'm a little disappointed that I have to wait. Has anyone had the same situation, and how long did you have to wait for the surgery? And I'm still trying to figure all this posting stuff, so bear with me if I don't get it right. I'll get it eventually.
cynthia E.
on 5/26/05 5:04 am - buckeye, AZ
Hi Dac. Welcome! I had DR. Juarez at St. Lukes. Is Dr. Villares a new doctor there? I had most of my pre-op done outside of St. Lukes so I can't help you with the behaviour modifications. I just wanted to let you know alot of the wait is the insurance approval. Ask your insurance what there requirments are. Make sure you have all the requirements they want completed. Get all the backup the surgeons office needs. Let me put it like this. I went to see DR. Juarez in August 2004 and by the time I completed Dr. Maxwells sessions, testing, and insurance approval. I had my surgery in November 2004. Sounds like you are on your way. Good luck with the next few steps. I hope they will go smothly and quickly. Don't stress to much, it all just takes time. Hope this helps Cynthia
GretchenL
on 5/26/05 8:33 am - Lakeside, AZ