progressing...

oldpolly1
on 5/9/05 4:02 am - Gold Canyon, AZ
OK, dear AZ friends, I have seen Dr Juarez, and when I told him that I was seriously considering lapband, he asked if 40-50 lb weight loss would be enough for me. NOT!!! He says that they are mostly for younger folks who plan to very active, and that he believed I might be happier with the RNY(I'm only 49, I thought I was young!). I am a little nervous about possible complications, but I am a nurse and a fast healer, so I'm sure I'll be fine. I must admit the relatively "instant gratification" of the bypass is sure appealing!!! Anyway, the folks in the office say my paperwork is in order, and they hope to be able to schedule for late June to early July!!! I'll keep you all posted... Bonnie B PS Still trying to get my picture on the boards. I'm kinda dumb with this stuff
Terri M.
on 5/9/05 9:19 am - Pinedale, AZ
Bonnie, Hi my name is Terri and I had the lap-band put on in Nov of 04. I am down 50 lbs now and still going. I am 42 (well I will be in a couple of weeks) and not active much at all. I am disabled so I can't do alot of excercise. I also belong to another board lapbandtalk.com and there you will find many people who have lost over 100lbs. What ever you chose should be your decission but please look around before taking this one Dr.'s advice. I had my surgery in Flagstaff. and am VERY happy with my surgeon! Good luck with whatever you decide, Terri Mully
Trisha
on 5/9/05 4:25 pm - Glendale, AZ