Help: Foaming

Trisha
on 4/8/05 3:13 pm - Glendale, AZ
I am 4 1/2 weeks post-op and I have been having "foaming" at least once a day for the last 3 days. This happened a lot last week and I slowed down my eating and made sure I didn't drink near mealtime. Im still eating slow and not soon after I drink, but it's happened at least once a day since Tuesday. I foamed today right after lunch and then tonight after dinner. There's no rhyme or reason to it. I can eat something one day and if I eat it later that day or the next day, I foam. I've slowed down eating and don't drink near mealtime but I continue to have problems. And then sometimes when I am foaming (throwing up) I can't stop and keep gagging until I have dry heaves. I know this is not good on my system. Any pointers or tips (besides eating slower, not drinking near mealtime) that can help. I'm SICK of this!!! (no pun intended)
Laura B.
on 4/8/05 3:27 pm - Gilbert, AZ
I am no expert on this since I haven't even had my surgery but do you think you could try going back on a liquid diet to see if that helps, maybe just a day or two? Laura B.
(deactivated member)
on 4/8/05 3:33 pm - Yakima, WA
Hi Trisha This is very normal! Happens to most between 2 and 6 weeks postop and lasts 2 to 3 weeks, generally! What causes it is your stomach is trying to relearn digestion. Limited acid production in the pouch so the mucus kicks in to help the food pass. In time, this gets better. I still sometimes, if I overeat now will get that...but in the early weeks, this isn't FROM anything other than your body adapting to its new wiring I found drinking something hot before eating often helped me. I don't know if you're allowed to drink right before eating..but if so, try that and see if it helps. (((HUGS))) Toots
Apostolic G.
on 4/8/05 4:13 pm - AZ
I still get the foamies if I eat to fast or try to take a swig of water after I just ate.
Christopher3296
on 4/9/05 1:15 pm - Mesa, AZ