Moving to AZ, used Dr.Blackstone ?

sarah_durso
on 11/10/12 9:20 am

Hello All ,   

I'm moving to AZ for a year to live near family. Husbands deploying with the Marines . So while he's away I'm going to have WLS and get healthy.  I've been researching this for a few yrs and it's now time. I had planned on getting RNY this fall here in NC , all my classes, and requirements are done .  USMC decided they had other plans and threw us a curve ball . I would have no one here to help out with the kids. So I'm going to AZ, and from the looks of it Dr.Blackstone is an amazing surgeon.  Have any of you used Scottsdale health ? 

wmamey
on 11/16/12 3:41 pm
RNY on 06/18/12
I am glad that things are starting to work out for you and that you are going to have the help you need. Good luck!!

iapples
on 12/7/12 2:39 am - AZ
RNY on 02/28/12

I used Dr Blackstone for RNY.  I am 9 months out.  My insurance required a 6 month supervised diet and then screwed me around for a while.  I started in May 2011 and lost 83 lbs. leading up to the surgery on 2/2812.  I am down an additional 100 lbs. since then.  I was diabetic, hypertensive, had gout and high cholesterol.  Since the day of surgery I am totally off all meds. 

As far as the practice goes it is very structured.  There are three surgeons there now.  There are nutrition, psych, and exercise personnel on staff.  If you are looking for a professional, competent staff that provides all of the tools you need for success I highly recommend.  You will not get a lot of time with your surgeon.  I met Dr. Blackstone in March of 2011, saw her in pre-op in Feb. 2012 and haven't seen her since.  The staff is very capable.  If you're the type that needs a lot of time with your doctor I suggest looking elsewhere.  If you want a quality team at a quality facility that offers pre and post-op support they are the way to go.