new to az

denise777
on 11/6/09 6:17 am - Tucson, AZ
hi all,
i am fairly new to the tucson area and am looking for some great support groups. i had rny 1 year ago in alaska and am about 8 pounds from goal (yay). i'm also looking for a new primary care provider and wondering if anyone can recommend one that is bariatric/wls friendly and knowledgeable. i am retired military and have tricare prime for insurance. any info is welcome.
thanks,
denise

marcie K.
on 11/9/09 11:02 am - Sahuarita, AZ

I mainly go to lap band groups but for rny there is tuswls they have a yahoo group you should sign up for.  They meet 2-3 times a month and I sometimes do the activities they have.  also carondelets meets I believe the first tues of the month and last sat and that is mostly bandsters but is open to every surgery. 

denise777
on 11/11/09 11:54 am - Tucson, AZ
wow, thanks for answering me....54 views and only 1 reply, oh well. i'll check out the yahoo group and see what they have going. btw...my husband and i plan to move to sauharita in february....any groups or activities going on down there?
again, thanks for answering my post,
denise

marcie K.
on 11/11/09 12:03 pm - Sahuarita, AZ
no groups or much of anything to do here:P  well we have a gym and pools and a lake that is a mile around but it is pretty boring.  I have a friend here who had vsg and we have been walking at the lake so u could join us.  the yahoo group has been pretty quiet lately but is a really good group of folks:)
denise777
on 11/12/09 3:32 am - Tucson, AZ
ok, so more miles on the jeep, living in alaska we did LOTS of traveling for less relevant things
one of the draws for sahaurita (i've got to learn to spell that right) is the quietness and the beauty of the lake and the trails and the bicycle friendly community. i would love to meet you and your friend for some walking at the lake.