I am new to Arizona

DAWN CAREY
on 12/10/08 3:29 pm - Peoria, AZ
Hello all, my name is Dawn and I moved to Peoria, Arizona 8 months ago.  I love it out here.  I moved from Chicago.  I had my surgery a little over a year and a half ago.  I have lost a total of 185 pounds since I was 12 months post opt.  I am going to start coming back to this site to chat with all of you.  It kinda sucks being out here because I dont have my normal SUPPORT group, that I have always went to in Illinois.  Does anyone know of any support groups, close to Peoria? I hope to chat with all of you.  I need to get updated pictures of me on here.  Isnt it the greatest feeling losing all that weight.  No one recognizes me lol.  Take Care~ Dawn

My facebook page is www.facebook.com/dawncarey

ginau
on 12/10/08 9:10 pm - mesa, AZ
Welcome Dawn.

There are lots of groups out here, a couple up in your area. there are peer lead  groups and a couple Dr's groups open to all patients.  I am  Sure Dawn or Ann will chime in with information.

GinaU aka Jeanna 
 RNY revised  to Extended RNY 5/2008
Total loss 181 and counting 

-

JRinAZ
on 12/10/08 11:00 pm - Layton, UT

Hiya Dawn!  .....  You left Chicago at a great time of year!  Brrrrrrrrrr!
Welcome to AZ!!!    Congrats on your amazing weight loss!  Wow!  .....  I agree that support is sooooo very valuable!  I'm a support group junky and try to hit at least ONE support group each week.  They are all over the valley at different days/times.  I'll try and gather the newest details and post a giant list at the top of 09.  There are at least 3 options over in your neck of the woods.  Ann M has a group in Sun City, there's a group at Banner Estrella and then Dr. Schlesinger's group is in N Phoenix and is open to all as well.