Considering WLS, unsupportive spouse. . .

JaimeJ
on 7/31/07 12:31 pm - Tempe, AZ
I have been considering WLS for about 6 years now.  My husband and I have been married for nearly five years.  We are both morbidly obese.  I have tried so many things to lose weight including diet/excercise, Weigh****chers, hypnotism, and SlimFast.  I finally got my husband to go to a seminar with me in March 06.  After the meeting hubby said that he would support me in my decision if I could try to lose weight on my for 6 months and go to the gym a min. of 3x a week.  The 6 month supervised diet is part of my insurance requirement so I said I would give it a shot.  I last 4 months on WW and lost 25#'s.  Then we decided that we would try to have another child.  We've been trying for a year, with no success.  A year later, I have gained back the 25#'s plus an extra 5 #'s.  I brought up WLS again last night and he thinks that because I couldn't stick with diet/exercise for 6 months that I wouldn't be able to do it after surgery.  He says that if he really wanted to lose weight he could.  I know I can't.  I need the tools that the surgery provides.  Did anyone else have an unsupportive spouse and go ahead with the surgery? I know I can't make him change his mind, but I can't go ahead with the surgery without his support. Jaime
ginau
on 7/31/07 12:58 pm - mesa, AZ
Jamie  Just a guess here, But I think you and your husband need to do more research , go to some support groups and see what life is llike after surgery - I learned a lot  from the groups - Its no longer a matter of willpower - witch I have more of now than ever before, But a lot of it has to do with getting so physically sick - you loose your desire for indulgent diet & behavior ,  Is you husband feeling pressured by your decission, you know it may be easier to have a child after you loose some of the extra weight.  I applaud you for your decission , I wish you both the best of luck and hope it all works out for the best !