Cost of bariatric surgery & best employers

teacherspet
on 6/9/07 1:20 pm - Tucson, AZ
Hello All,      I'm just beginning this process and would really appreciate all of your feedback.  I am unable to find the "cash" cost of gastric bypass.  I am also interested in learning what companies have the most "obesity friendly" insurance programs.  I have an appointment with Linda Schwartz schedule for the 22nd.  I heard that she is pro surgery when needed.  Thank you all in advance for any informtion you may have. Ticia  
mustangsally
on 6/9/07 4:09 pm - Tucson, AZ
The cash cost is different with every Dr. and what hospital they are contracted with. I used Dr. Chaisson at Northwest Hospital.  I had to pay the Dr., the hospital and the anesthesiologist all separately.  There is also the nutritionist, the psych eval, and the radiologist (x-ray and swallow test after surgery).  I would say the total I paid, all said and done, was about $23,000.00.  As far as insurance companies go, I think they make it up as they go along.  Every time I turned in my paperwork, some of the criteria changed so I would have to start over.  I was denied 3 times after a year and a half of trying to get everthing they wanted in the time line they set.   Good Luck
M. clarke
on 6/9/07 6:03 pm