anyone use banner bariatrics?

wannabthinagain
on 5/9/07 12:01 pm
Hi everyone- i guess i should introduce myself. I have been reading all of your posts looking for answers. i am a newbie here. As of may 1st i got banner insurance and am so looking forward to being able to have the lap band procedure. i was interested in the vbg, but i guess insurance wont pay for that one. just doing lots and lots of research for the last 2 years. you guys are real informative here on this site. its great!! any input you would have for me about banner bariatrics (I am going to a seminar on may 20th at Banner mesa med center).. do they make you jump through hoops? how long from first seminar to actual surgery date??? any input would help. thanks so much. kathie
JRinAZ
on 5/9/07 12:09 pm - Layton, UT
Welcome Kathie! I don't know a thing about that program but just wanted you to know that we'e listening! Good luck! Joyce
asilroyan
on 5/9/07 12:53 pm
I'm having my surgery tomorrow at Banner Good Sam. The Banner program is great. It's not them that hold up the process. It's mostly an insurance thing. When you go to the seminar make sure you go to one where the surgeon you're interested in is presenting. I went not knowing that and then when I called my preferred surgeon they said I had to attend a seminar where he spoke. I can't say enough about the Good Sam program, they really are great but you don't end up working with them all that much. I'm using Daniel Fang as my surgeon. He's supposed to be very capable, but he has absolutely no bedside manner and his staff stinks. If you can choose, I'd go with Dr Villares. People rave about him.
wannabthinagain
on 5/9/07 3:40 pm