questions about seeing my PCP for the first time next week about Gastric Bypass Surgery

JayeJaye
on 4/12/07 5:26 am - Fort Rucker, AL
I called Tricare and talked with a representative a few days ago about having a Gastric Bypass surgery. I told her a little of my background and she told me to make an appointment with my PCP for a consulation. If they see that I meet qualifications they will send in appropriate paperwork for insurance approval. She didn't seem to think it would be difficult to be approved. I am 33 . I weigh 260 pounds and I am 5'6. I believe I have the BMI to be preapproved. I also have battled obesity since I was in college.(for about 10 years) I called my PCP and set up and appointment for Tuesday (April 17). I am really, really terrified . I do not want to screw up anything at the appointment. I want the surgery sooo bad. I have been debating it for two years now. I know in general what to expect and what I will have to do . Can anybody out there explain what happens on the first initial visit? What should I make sure I say or not say? PLEASE, PLEASe HELP ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Any advice would be much appreciated!!!!!
carolem
on 4/12/07 9:19 am - Austin , TX
Jaye, This visit should be fairly low key if it's with your PCP doctor. Your BMI sounds like it's over 40 so that shouldn't be a problem. Your doctor will probably want to see how much you know about Gastic Bypass Surgery so he knows you've done your homework. He will be the one that writes the letter to the bariatric surgeon stating the medical necessity for this procedure. Be prepared to state what all diets you've tried in the past few years. I think I had about 5 of them, but didn't have to produce any actual documentation. My insurace co. was easy though, some need medically supervised diets 6 months prior to the appoval for surgery. Relax, you would have to work hard to mess up this appointment! Relax, youve already spent 2 years preparing for this! Good luck, you'll be fine!
JEAN-NA