Going back to work questions...

Kelove34
on 3/12/07 9:40 am - AZ
I have been reading posts for about a month but have not yet posted. My surgeron has submitted my "case" to the insurance company and now I am just playing the waiting game. I hope to have the LapBand and I have learned MANY helpful things on this site but one thing that I have not read about is going back to work. I am a professional and work is very important to me. I plan on taking only 1 week off of work to recooperate. For example - have surgery on Tuesday and go back to work on Monday. One reason for this is I dont want ANYONE to know. To all of you guys who have been through this... is this enough time? Also - I have to travel a lot for work - how soon can I fly after surgery? Thanks for you guidance/advice. I look forward to your thoughts... K-
Sherry61
on 3/12/07 11:07 am - Tucson, AZ
I am seeing Dr. Blackstone and from others in this site they said for the lap band it is one week and RNY it is 3 weeks. When I went to my preop education class they said that you cannot drive until after your followup appointment which is 2 weeks and they also said you cannot lift anything for 6 weeks. I haven't met with Dr. B to find out exactly what she will sign for. Others on this and other sites say that they had it done on Thursday and returned to work Monday. I think it is very individual. Good luck!
desert rat
on 3/12/07 12:24 pm - Goodyear, AZ
Kelly, I have a friend who had lap RNY & she only took one week off. Her job has her at a desk all day and she said it was tough but she made it. You might want to go to the lap-band forum. They'll have much more information. Best of luck! Dj
K B (Tucson)
on 3/12/07 12:34 pm - Tucson, AZ
I have the band and 1 week is generally sufficient for recouperation IF you have a more sedentary job. You will feel tired quickly and may need to go home early for a few days. Good luck.
carolem
on 3/13/07 2:13 am - Austin , TX