BC/BS AZ - PPO

pharrington
on 8/30/06 4:02 am - Wittmann, AZ
Hello everyone. I am completely new to the wls thing and this site. I will attend the seminar at SBC on September 10th and I have an appointment with Dr. Emmershad on 9/13. I have been researching wls for 3 years and have finally decided I am ready to do this. My question is about insurance. Does anyone have any experience with approval, criteria, problems with BC/BS AZ - PPO? If so, please e-mail me. Thanks.
BOBINA
on 8/30/06 5:00 am - mesa, AZ
Congrats Peggy !!!! I had united healthcare and no problems - I would suggest calling to find out what the criteria for approval is with the insurance company - they will tell you right over the phone. I had surgery with Dr Blackstone 6 weeks ago - and very happy. Sbc is a little more money out ofpocket - But well worth it . I researched the surgery for almost 5 yrs before I got to have it . Good Luck and keep us posted !!
Nicole W.
on 8/30/06 4:27 am - Cave Creek, AZ
From what I understand Blue Cross Blue Shield of AZ (most BCBS are now) is very difficult to get approved with. But you will receive more information once you meet with the financial coordinator's at SBC. I have BCBS of New York, so it wasn't as difficult. But from what I understand BCBS of AZ will not cover lap band. And anything has to be medical necessity and patient needs to have co-morbities. You can go to the insurance section of the site, click on AZ and review all the insurances that have been approved for BCBS of AZ and each person's process. Good Luck to you... I might see you at the seminar, I might be going with a friend of mine from work for support!
Tiffany McGee
on 8/30/06 11:34 am - Glendale, AZ