How much did you think about regain in the beginning?

Jester
on 2/12/19 1:21 pm
RNY on 03/21/16 with

I thought about it all the time from the beginning. I am almost 3 years out and I still think about it all the time.

Even during the weight loss phase, I was far more concerned with regain than with the weight loss. I new I would lose weight - after all I was a professional dieter like most of us here.

The most stressful time for me was transitioning to maintenance. My whole life I had either been gaining or losing. I had never been able to maintain a steady weight.

As the months went by and I remained at a steady weight, it was definitely validating in the sense that it COULD be done, but I never lost the fear that I would fall off the proverbial wagon.

I experienced by first regain over the holidays this year. It was "only" about 10-12 pounds, but it confirmed all of my fears - that regain was simply lurking around the corner for me.

I wouldn't say I obsess about it, but it is nearly constantly in the back of my mind. I know that I have to be vigilant for the rest of my life, or I will fall into old habits.

At this point, I know I can be successful. But I also know it will not happen magically, or without constant vigilance.

Erin T.
on 2/13/19 11:41 am
VSG on 01/17/17

I worried about it from day 1. But, I had been here on OH and in other communities so I knew it was a real possibility. Unfortunately, I found myself 18 months out from surgery with a real diagnosed eating disorder and many physical (and mental) struggles due to that.

I don't have a good answer. The concept of balance isn't easy to preach either, because we didn't get to 300lbs because we're good at balance. But, I think I would have liked to have known that it was a possibility - I truly felt blindsided because I thought I was just doing what I was supposed to do.

VSG: 1/17/17

5'7" HW: 283 SW: 229 CW: 135-140 GW: 145