How to decide on WLS

artchikk
on 6/6/18 12:10 pm
RNY on 02/12/18

I have been contemplating the surgery for at least 10 years. I've been obese since I was about 7 years old. I was in my 20's when I thought about surgery the first time, but I had a lot of success changing my diet and lifestyle to eating low carb. I lost over 100 lbs and kept it off for over 2 years. of course over time I changed jobs, had a more sedentary desk job, moved in with my now husband, had some stressful situations come up and fell off the wagon as my life changed...my eating habits changed and I was unable to maintain my weight any longer and ended up gaining it all back within a year or 2. by that time I was desperate to become a mother. I knew I needed to lose weight for a healthy pregnancy but I also didn't want to wait much longer as I was in my 30's. There was always a reason not to do it...in my mind it was one or the other--I could either have WLS or I could be a mother...I was too afraid of possible risks and I knew I would need to wait at least 2 years after the surgery to even try and we had been unsuccessful for 5 years already.
I had a lot of depression in those couple of years due to infertility struggles not necessarily related to my weight, but I did manage to lose about 40 lbs and spent a lot of time at the gym to get my body healthy enough to sustain a healthy pregnancy- I had to prove to the doctors I was up to it before they would clear me for IVF.
I was still MO when I had the procedure done but I was also 35 years old and since I had no other real comorbidities they approved me and I had my daughter when I was 36....then I gained back all the weight I'd lost again plus another 35lbs. I lost and gained 30-70lbs 5 times in the last 3 years since then, and the last time I did it, I said "this is it...if this doesn't work for me I have no more options besides surgery". it was my last resort.