Insurance -- Pre-approvals, appeals, and other stuff I need help with

diane S.
on 6/2/18 11:42 am

Read my blog which has my insurance appeal in it. I won. But every policy is different. You have to read the terms of the policy and comply with them. And learn the appeal procedures in your state. GL Diane S

Join US On The VSG Maintenance Group Forum!! 
                  http://www.obesityhelp.com/group/VSGM/discussion/

Oxford Comma Hag
on 6/2/18 2:09 pm

I wrangle insurance for a living and have for years.

I do not think your insurance will make an exception for you. Although it is a pain to have to wait, there is no compelling reason for the waiting period to be shortened.

Your PCP can think anything, but if you do not meet all criteria, you may be denied.

I fight badgers with spoons.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 800-273-8255

Suicidepreventionlifeline.org

Vampy
on 6/4/18 10:40 am

Understood. I did call and get some clarification finally this morning, and she did tell me that there are more things accepted than just "weigh-ins with my PCP". So that actually helped quite a bit.

Thank you for your input!

Amy R.
on 6/4/18 7:55 pm

You've gotten such great input that I don't have much to add. My concern would be staying with a surgeon who said that it's "easy enough" to revise. It may be easy for the surgeon, but it's not a walk in the park for you and your body.

And what MaryAnn said about printing out a copy of your insurance requirements. Do that. A lot can change in a year and with apologies I don't trust insurance companies to uphold the highest ethical standards. Printed policies have saved many bacons.

Good luck, I hope your time passes quickly or that it turns out you don't need to wait the whole year.

Vampy
on 6/5/18 9:37 am

Yeah for sure. I feel like I've learned a lot. And I am so glad this community is so supportive/knowledgeable :D!