Newbie here - what is minimum protein amount?

MarinaGirl
on 2/2/18 12:14 pm

There is a lot of variation in recommended amount of protein to consume each day. This is also true in the scientific community. Some MDs and PhDs think most people consume too much protein, which puts undue pressure on your body and the environment, whereas others are big proponents of eating large amounts of protein. I've heard anywhere from 40-60g per day for females to 60-100g. Everyone is different so you may need to experiment a little for yourself to determine the right amount, but when in doubt follow your surgeon's plan and recommendations.

Sparklekitty, Science-Loving Derby Hag
on 2/2/18 12:47 pm
RNY on 08/05/19

From my understanding, the researchers who claim "people consume too much protein" are NOT looking at the WLS population.

Sparklekitty / Julie / Nerdy Little Secret (#42)
Roller derby - cycling - triathlon
VSG 2013, RNY conversion 2019 due to GERD. Trendweight here!

(deactivated member)
on 2/3/18 10:17 am

The WLS population is also disregarding vegans ,vegetarians and just the huge amount of occasionally ( But not everyday meat eating) carnivorous or pescatarian WLS patients who constantly talk about " gagging" at the though of protein shakes of even dense meat protein.

My eight years post op experience is that I neeed to eat a LOT LESS than the recommended proteins and I do great.

Excess Proteins stave off hunger .. true but t hey cause ketosis, eventual organ failures and even shortened lives.

Id much rather be a kale-eating semi vegan with all my chicklet-like teeth looking thirty years younger vastly hotter taller straighter than my arguing co patients .

on 2/3/18 3:20 pm
RNY on 08/05/19
On February 3, 2018 at 6:17 PM Pacific Time, quutgrrl wrote: