Digestive Enzymes, anyone take them after Gastric bypass

sunshinespring
on 10/19/17 2:49 pm - Bay Area, CA

just wondering if any of you guys have taken digestive enzymes, I have been having stomach problems and they get worse by the day, digestion, constipation, and I feel full even with the smallest amount of food eaten, same with water or anything I eat.

a friend suggested enzymes but I am not sure if that is safe for gastric bypass patients, I am over 9 years out from surgery and the doctors have prescribed numerous medicines for the problems but none have helped,

Amy R.
on 10/19/17 6:37 pm

Are digestive enzymes the same thing as probiotics? Because I take those and so do a lot of folks here on OH.

Hala is actually the expert in this area - hands down. Hopefully she'll be along in a bit to answer you more knowledgeably.

sunshinespring
on 10/19/17 6:50 pm - Bay Area, CA

Thank you, they are different I think, I have no knowledge on this except google but it wont give me info about gastric bypass patients, hopefully we'll get some information.

NYMom222
on 10/20/17 5:37 am
RNY on 07/23/14

Enzymes are different than probiotics. I do keep papaya enzymes on hand from GNC. But only use them if I feel like meat is stuck or I'm not digesting it well.

I didn't know this originally but then read it on a medical bariatric website, can't remember which one but it will block your Malabsorption As it makes you digest things better. So while I do use them, when I feel the need, I wouldn't use them daily

Cynthia 5'11" RNY 7/23/2014

Goal reached 17 months. 220lb Weight Loss
Plastic Surgery Dr. Joseph Michaels - LBL and Hernia Repair 2/29/16, Arm Lift, BL, 5/2/16, Leg Lift 7/25/16

#lifeisanadventure #fightthegoodfight #noregrets

Save

Save

califsleevin
on 10/19/17 9:14 pm - CA