After surgery life

Missygirllove
on 8/10/17 12:52 pm - Philadelphia , Pa
  • Hi I'm new to this web site and I am in the proses of getting my surgery in November or so. I'm 22 and when the surgery happens I will be 23 I am not a party gowere or drinker every day or even every month but when my friends or family get together we do have a drink or two together I want to know if this surgery will effect that?... because the therapist that penn had me go to said that I will have to find something else to do when get together ma happenand this really not upset me but saddened me a little because I like going out when I can with my friends and having a drink to unwinde because I work 24-7 so I truly never have time to see them or talk to them and when we do we go all out I just wanted to know of anyone who has had this problem. My mother has had this surgery in 2003 and she's fine she drinks at wedding or birthday parties and she doesn't have a problem with it but I wanted to know from some other people who has gone through this surgery thank you
Sparklekitty, Science-Loving Derby Hag
on 8/10/17 2:50 pm
RNY on 08/05/19

The best course of action is to avoid alcohol completely after surgery. There are three primary reasons for this:

• Alcohol is nothing but empty carbs and calories, neither of which you need while losing weight
  • Your tolerance will likely be drastically reduced, making it easier to get smashed and potentially suffer from alcohol poisoning
  • Many people with food addictions before WLS develop a "transfer addiction" to alcohol. When they can't use food to cope with their feelings, they turn to booze.

There are lots of other ways to unwind with friends while they drink. Mineral water with a little bit of fruit is a great choice. Some people are able to tolerate carbonation after surgery, so diet Coke is another option.