Telling people about your decision for WLS

peachpie
on 7/30/17 12:24 pm - Philadelphia, PA
RNY on 04/28/15

My immediate family knew, and 2 close friends at work (one was my former boss). I was only comfortable telling the two work friends because I knew I would not be working with either day to day anymore.

I started a new position post op- so while they saw the weight come off- I think I was too new for people to be comfortable enough to ask me how I was doing it.

If you tell people, do so unapologetically. Own your decision and stand firm leaving no room for debate. You are sharing a decision, not seeking input.

5'6.5" High weight:337 Lowest weight:193/31 BMI: Goal: 195-205/31-32 BMI

kitmouse
on 7/30/17 12:47 pm
RNY on 07/27/17

Oh I LIKE that--"you are sharing a decision, not seeking input."

I told work I was "having surgery". I'm a physical therapist assistant and I work in a hospital surrounded by medical professionals. As PTs and PTAs we've been rigorously trained to watch and evaluate bodies. We do it even when it's not our patients, or when we're not working. You can't turn it off. There was no way on god's green earth I was going to subject myself to that kind of scrutiny.

My husband knew, obviously. I told three close friends months ago, and they've been stellar in being supportive and non judgmental. Other people I told after surgery was done because I didn't want to be questioned.

If work peeps ask when I go back in a month, "I had some things fixed" is my go-to answer. I'm not very open at work anyway, as I feel it is unprofessional (I always am patient-facing, and they're there for their health issues, not mine).

My therapist and I have started to talk a little bit about the idea of shame and how it colors how I respond to people, where that shame comes from and how to root it out. Who knows? Maybe by this time next year I'll have unearthed that. Until then, it's easier to just not say. You can't take it back once you've let it out.

teresafr