Too small for weight loss surgery?

hadenney
on 7/28/17 7:01 pm

Hello, noob here. I have been overweight most of my life, from about 3rd grade (34 now) but have always seemed to manage and maintain around 260. At that weight I was mobile and happy. I was very active, worked a fast paced job and loved it. Although no eating plan or exercise resulted in a lower number, I was in a good place for me, and gave up trying SO hard. Fast forward to 3 kids later, and currently 12 weeks pregnant with my 4th, and I'm tipping the scale at 310. I'm 5'8", at the end of my last pregnancy I had been issued a handicap parking pass because the weight was putting so much strain on my nerves my legs would go numb after walking too far. Breathing also suffered. After birth of my second, I joined a fitness center, changed eating habits, was truly faithful to change, 2 years, and nothing. I managed to lose 5 pounds in about a years time, then plateau hit and left me at 300 pounds. I even managed to keep up my workouts through my 5th month of pregnancy before it became too laborsome to breathe. I recently started seeing a new doctor and asked about possibly looking into a weight loss surgery after I've recovered from this pregnancy. I want to be around to watch my kids grow up, and he flat out told me that I wasn't fat enough. Is that true? Or should I get another opinion?

Gwen M.
on 7/28/17 7:40 pm
VSG on 03/13/14

At 5'8" with 300 pounds, your BMI is 45 which puts you in the morbidly obese category. Your doctor is lying to you - he is perhaps anti-WLS. I would recommend finding a new doctor!

Also, call your insurance company and find out what their requirements are for WLS. That will help get you going in the right direction.

Welcome to OH!

VSG with Dr. Salameh - 3/13/2014
Diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and started Vyvanse - 7/22/2016
Reconstructive Surgeries with Dr. Michaels - 6/5/2017 (LBL & brachioplasty), 8/14/2017 (UBL & mastopexy), 11/6/2017 (medial leg lift)