Iron infusions - how fast does your ferritin fall?

ReadyforPlastics
on 6/15/17 1:41 pm

I'm new to getting iron infusions but I know they are very common around here.

how fast does your ferritin level typically fall after an infusion? How frequently do you get tested or have infusions?

My ferritin was (I think) 12 before my infusion. A couple of weeks after the infusion it was 222. Two months later it was 99.

Is this the typical pattern? It seems like a sudden drop but maybe that ferritin had to be "used" to get my hemoglobin up. Hemotologist wants me to retest in November unless I start having anemia symptoms again.

VSG December 2011

Choose gratitude. 

But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things!   Galatians 5:22-23

Grim_Traveller
on 6/15/17 3:39 pm
RNY on 08/21/12

There doesn't seem to be a typical. I've seen some need infusions every 9 months, and some every 3 or 4 years.

Some folks absorb oral iron a little better than others, so it likely spaces infusions further apart. The best thing you can do is keep on top of labwork and supplements, and proceed accordingly.

St iron supplements a few days before labwork. Taking them too soon before can throw your numbers off.

6'3" tall, male.

Highest weight was 475. RNY on 08/21/12. Current weight: 198.

M1 -24; M2 -21; M3 -19; M4 -21; M5 -13; M6 -21; M7 -10; M8 -16; M9 -10; M10 -8; M11 -6; M12 -5.

ReadyforPlastics
on 6/16/17 6:36 am

I wasn't sure how fast ferritin tends to drop after the initial boost from the infusion. Mine went from 222 down to 99 in 2 months. I guess I was curious if this was a typical pattern or if I might need more sooner rather than later.

Right now im scheduled to retest in November. Does that seem reasonable?

Im so so so thankful for the iron infusions. I am literally a new person with them!!! Seriously the best thing ever. ;)