Surgeon interaction post surgery

Kathyjs
on 5/19/17 11:52 am

I met my surgeon a week before surgery . Every day while in hospital and that was it. I was a nurse in recovery and as another poster stated surgeons typically don't have good bedside manners. But I had the best surgeon in the world !

(deactivated member)
on 5/19/17 12:04 pm

I saw my surgeon 24 hours after my surgery and i was having horrible pain and he checked on my last pain med and talked to me some .. after that it is the " team" at the hospital. and they have been awesome. I don't really care to see him. he doesn't have much personality. My "team" a PA, a Nurse Practitioner and a nutritionist are accessible to me through email and their appointments with me are never rushed and always helpful.so have helped or answered questions. I guess through some of my reading I am very lucky in that way. I also had my surgery at a an Ivy league medical School and I think when we have access to medical schools , we get better care all around. But, that's just my opinion and my experience.

(deactivated member)
on 5/19/17 2:02 pm

I have not seen my surgeon since the day after surgery. I am always amazed when I read of continuing surgeon relationships. My after care was passed on to PA and NUT team. Their level of knowledge regarding calorie, carb intake etc. seems minimal. I am so thankful for all the great info I get here!

Amy R.
on 5/19/17 3:34 pm

My experience is kind of weird because I had so many other things going on health-wise preop. I needed a near-total gastrectomy and I needed it yesterday. Yes, I am that special snowflake, lol. I won't go into all of the detail because it's a long and boring story. But, I've had other surgeries as well so I feel I've probably run the gamut.