OT - Really trying not to lose it

Donna L.
on 2/23/17 11:12 am - Chicago, IL
Revision on 02/19/18

I'm so sorry, Deanna. That's awful. :(  I would absolutely be upset, too.  

Definitely take care of yourself right now.  Get the support you need while your husband is traveling.  Please hang in there!

I follow a ketogenic diet post-op. I also have a diagnosis of binge eating disorder. Feel free to ask me about either!

It is not that we have so little time but that we lose so much...the life we receive is not short but we make it so; we are not ill provided but use what we have wastefully. -- Seneca, On the Shortness of Life

Oxford Comma Hag
on 2/23/17 11:28 am

I have some experience with crazy work schedules, and it can be difficult. Sainted Husband had had to be on call in his career for 15 years, and before that he was a long-haul trucker for a couple of years, so he would be on the road 30 days and home for 3 at most. He used to only be on call one 24-hour period a week, but now he is on call a full week out of every five. In addition to that, he is a foreman, so if one of his guys is on call or just needs an extra set of hands, he goes out. Because most buildings cannot be withou****er during business hours, it's not uncommon for him to work at night. In short, his schedule is all over the place. He also has a minimum of an hour-plus commute each way and teaches an apprentice class at least once a month.

Sainted Husband loves his job, he is very passionate about it, and he is really good at it. I get tired of his schedule, and dog knows he does (who the hell wants to go inspect a grease trap at 5am?), but it's just part and parcel of life. I decided I would just roll with it, even when he has to work all day, come home and sleep for three hours and then go back out.