How to feel satisfied...

Deanna798
on 2/20/17 5:33 am
RNY on 08/04/15

I live in Ypsi and work in Southfield, so I totally understand.  I have a long commute everyday.  Weekends would be the best for me, since I work Monday through Friday.  I'll PM you my name and cell phone number.  I'm active on facebook as well, if you're on there, look me up!

Sharon SW-267
GW-165 CW-167 S.

on 2/17/17 6:48 am - PA
RNY on 12/22/14

If this helps, keep it, if not,pitch.

About 6 months after WLS, I came across a video from a dr who said, after going through all the stats for WLS, that in the end, the goal is to have a healthy and happy relationship with food and your body. It hit me like I had never heard anything like that before (this is about my perpetual diet mindset - and how distorted my mindset was.)  This 'new thinking' was in my mind as the 'emotional high' from seeing the scale go down tapered off and I transitioned to maintaining. I have been working on that for 18 months now.  I think that this transitiion in goals from the scale to having a healthy and happy relationship with food and your body is helpful in establishing the long term mentality for post WLS success.  I am 2+ years now, so I only have that experience, the 5+ and 10+ yrs post-WLSers may have a different opinion. 

You are still recent in your surgery.  (even though you are 18 months post-op) and your perspective will continue to develop.  You may look back in a few years with kind humor at your current mindset. 

I did have plastics to deal with the arm flab (I felt that if I fell asleep and put my arm over my head I would suffocate from the batwing.)  Although I have a scars, I am still glad I had that done - it saved my sanity.  

Here is the video from DR Weiner - it is at the very end that he talks about having a healthy and happy relationship with food and your body.  I am re-inspired everytime I listen to it.

Here are my hopes for your continued progress, in all ways.