Getting started

Insert Fitness
on 12/15/16 1:02 pm

Yup. And I have a very strong feeling I will not be a dumper. Going to try and stay away from sugar and simple carbs  as long as I can, so I don't find out hahha 

RNY Sept 8, 2016

M1:23, M2 :18, M3 :11, M4 :19, M5: 13, M6: 12, M7: 17, M8: 11, M9: 11.5, M10: 13, M11: 10, M12: 10 M13 : 7.6, M14: 6.9, M15: 6.7

Instagram:InsertFitness

Insert Fitness
on 12/15/16 4:22 am

Congratulations on making your decision! Shame is such a destructive force. It's what kept many of us from reaching out sooner. It keeps us isolated, and feeling like no one else can relate. But it's not true. For example, there are hundreds of us on this board, who know exactly what you are feeling. And I promise, there is nothing you can put in that food log that a dietitian at a Bariatric clinic hasn't seen.

Everyone approaches preop a little different, and it seems like no two plans are the same. In my case, before surgery, I started practicing the post op behaviours and habits my clinic recommended. Those included:

journaling

switching to decaf

eliminating alcohol

Slowly reducing carbs ( I still ate things like an English muffin instead of 2 pieces of bread (or 6....), beans, lentils veggies etc) 

Not having liquids with meals

start moving more 

you cant expect to be perfect at any of this, but look to improve a little each week. I didn't try to actively lose weight pre op, but by doing the above, I did.

as for what to expect from your first appointment with the dietitian, it varies from clinic, but in my case, they were looking to see if I understood The basics of nutrition. They went through my log, showed me areas where I could make healthier choices, how to balance my meals etc. more teachable type session. Then, the second one was to see if I'd been able to implement those changes. Again, they aren't looking for perfect, just that you are progressing, and learning.