Trying to loose weight

katrinaj
on 10/28/16 10:04 pm

hi, i am new to this forum, I tried eerything to loose weight in the past 10 years. After having my baby, I gined a lot of weight.....I tried walking, diet....I cant run anymore because I am too heavy...my joints hurt...I am afraid I will not be able to work anymore

my work is very stressful....

did anybody here successfully loose weight?

Ladytazz
on 10/29/16 2:36 am

The name of the group may be a bit misleading because we are obese people seeking help but many of us are here because we have chosen (or suggested) to have weight loss surgery.  I'm not sure that is an option for you or even if you should consider it since I don't know your story but there is a Non-Surgical Weight Loss Forum but I don't think it is very active.

As for your question, I think it is safe to say that we have all tried to loss weight and for the most part been successful.  I know that I was an expert at losing weight having lost 50+ pounds more times than I can count.

As you can guess the problem was never losing weight, although it did get harder and harder as I got older.  The problem has always been keeping the weight off.  There are countless diets and programs out there for weight loss.  Not a whole lot for maintenance of that loss.

The statistics are abysmal.  The long term success for keeping excess weight off for 5 years is something like 5%.  So that means that 95% of the time the weight came back and always brought along friends.  A 50 lbs weight loss usually meant a 55 lb regain somewhere down the road.

Weight loss surgery is not magic.  It is not a quick fix or cure.  It is a treatment option, probably one of the few options out there that has any rate of success, which in the weight loss surgery world means something like a 50% chance of keeping off the excess weight for 5 years.  Not great numbers but better than 5%.