Food issues?

Mama-E
on 10/3/16 7:55 am

hi all,

im pretty new to this process - I've had my information session only. (Oh I'm in Canada).

I've been seeing a Cognitive Behaviour Therapist for a few months now in regards to my eating habits. We have been focusing on demoralizing food (food isn't "bad" or eating something isn't "cheating" - food is food) as well as not making food my constant focus. 

I'm getting worried that these new habits I'm trying to form are not going to be helpful post surgery ? Food intake is very important post surgery - as well as making sure we are ingesting the right amount of protein, sugar, carbs, fat....

i also try really hard to eat as much non processed foods as possible but my information binder from the nutrionist lists "low fat sugar free" types of food.. 

I'd appreciate any and all insights and experiences you've had in regards to these issues!

Ref:07/2016 Orientation: 09/26/16 Psych appt:Oct 6 2016 Nurse: Nov 14/16 SW: Jan 16/17 Nutrition: Jan 26/ 17 Surgeon: March 31/17 Surgery: Aug 15/2017.

HW (so far) 252lbs

Grim_Traveller
on 10/3/16 8:56 am
RNY on 08/21/12

I understand the argument that food lacks moral values of goodness or badness. Being obese and having a constant focus on food doesn't help.

But, what I have found after surgery is that I spend a LOT more time thinking about food, and planning my eating. Part of my obesity problem was always CRAVING food, but never really thinking much about what I was cramming in my mouth.

So thinking about food, in great detail, I think is vital. 

Getting rid of processed food is very important. Cutting white foods -- sugar, bread, pasta, potatoes, rice, etc -- is really crucial.

Ignore low fat advice. Fat is good for you. Maximize protein, minimize carbs, and ignore fat. If you are focusing on protein and carbs, your fat will be just fine.

Think about food a lot, but don't crave it. Don't eat mindlessly. Yeah, that's much easier said than done. But it can help.