Need advice!

AntoniaP
on 8/16/16 3:21 pm

I have been thinking about bariatric surgery for a while and would love some advice from someone with experience.  I realize that at the beginning it must feel amazing to lose all this weight, but how is life with the general food restrictions afterwards? How is life different after surgery.  Are there many rules and restrictions?  What are the most frequent complications?

ive been struggling with my weight all my life and i feel disappointed in myself for not being able to accomplish weight loss on my own. I feel like i can never get a hold on it.  my husband is not very supportive, hes worried about the aftermath. any feedback would be appreciated.

chassibi
on 8/16/16 4:00 pm

I am a newbie (4 months post op) so cannot answer you about long term. But I would suggest you use the search bar and answer some of your questions. They are common ones. 

Welcome! 

Consult Weight:276/Surgery Day Weight: 241.6 /Goal Weight: 150

TimeToHealRich2016
on 8/16/16 4:21 pm - CA
VSG on 07/11/16

Wow...deja vu.  Your post about so many of the typical thoughts brings me back to when I also, 4 years ago, tried to decide.  I can only say that I didn't answer those questions well and fully.  So definitely do your homework on experience of others and try to match them up with your own life experiences.  My path caused me to go through two lose-weight-on-my-own but not keep it off years. Then I decided to get serious due to diabetes, health, loss of brother to this and I am so happy.  I wish I had done it before!  At 64, I wished I was wiser back then.

Do your homework for sure, meet or talk with people, read books, and apply what's right for you.  Big consideration is what type of WLS also.

Rich

HW: 447 SW: 415 GW: 240 CW: 339 Total WL = 110

WL: Pre-op: -32 M1: -27 M2: -19 M3: -14 M4: -9 M5 & M6: -9 in progress

White Dove
on 8/16/16 4:49 pm - Warren, OH