Sweet Foods

Deanna798
on 8/14/16 4:18 am, edited 8/16/16 4:48 am
RNY on 08/04/15

In just a year post op, and i have an eating disorder.  What I'm trying to do,  as many people in my situation,  is find a healthy way of eating that i can maintain long term. Personally, if i restrict too much, i will send myself into a binge cycle. This is something that I'm just learning  about myself.  

Ideally, I'd love to be able to eat a paleo diet, because in my opinion, is the healthiest way to live. But I have failed at that,  and now mitigate the damage of my eating disorder by adding in artificial sweeteners and the occasional real sugar item.  

I think for me,  staying mindful of my weight and my diet will be the key to my success or failure.  

Age: 44 | Height: 5' 3" | Starting January 2015: 291 | RNY 8/4/15 with Dr. Arthur Carlin| Goal: 150

Listen to advice and accept discipline, and at the end you will be counted among the wise. ~Proverbs 19:20

Roma
on 8/14/16 6:43 am
RNY on 06/15/15

Sorry to hear that. How are you managing your eating disorder? Do you have a clinic or therapist/dietician you are working with? 

I think this is much more common than people in our community talk about.

Referral: 8/14; Orientation TWH: 12/14; Nurse: 01/15; SW, Dietician, Psych: 2/15; Surgeon: 5/15; RNY: June 15/2015

Deanna798
on 8/14/16 6:10 pm
RNY on 08/04/15

I see a therapist, and right now I'm just struggling through.  Finding ways to avoid binging is tops on my list.  I have a tendency to hide when i binge, so trying to make sure that I don't eat alone is important.  that brings a feeling of shame.  So, logging all my food and talking about what I eat publicly here and with my friends who have weight loss surgery really helps me a lot.

Age: 44 | Height: 5' 3" | Starting January 2015: 291 | RNY 8/4/15 with Dr. Arthur Carlin| Goal: 150

Listen to advice and accept discipline, and at the end you will be counted among the wise. ~Proverbs 19:20

karenp8