Has anyone backed out of surgery?

(deactivated member)
on 5/19/16 9:03 am

I'm scheduled for VSG next week and thinking about not going through with it. I'm still on pre-op diet but my head and heart are saying otherwise. Just looking for opinions. Thank you!!

Deanna798
on 5/19/16 9:11 am
RNY on 08/04/15

I don't know you, and I don't know your situation.  I don't know why you need WLS, or how much you have to lose, but I can tell you one thing.  I was terrified before my surgery, I'm not good with change at all.  But that was the problem, I had been doing the same things for decades and my weight kept climbing.  I pushed through and had my surgery last August.

My life will never be the same again.  And that is a GOOD thing, because my quality of life had gotten so bad that I couldn't play with my kids anymore.  

I can't give you the personal reasons that you need to have surgery, because only you can really decide for yourself, but I will say that if you are having doubts you really, really need to discuss them with your surgeon.  I see that you live in Canada and I know that getting approval there takes a really long time.  I would not jump ship unless I was absolutely sure that is what I wanted.

I hope you figure it out and decide what is best for you either way.

Good luck!

Age: 44 | Height: 5' 3" | Starting January 2015: 291 | RNY 8/4/15 with Dr. Arthur Carlin| Goal: 150

Listen to advice and accept discipline, and at the end you will be counted among the wise. ~Proverbs 19:20

handtlkr
on 5/19/16 9:17 am - Gulfport, MS
VSG on 12/17/15