Large hiatal hernia/ bypass

Melanie84
on 3/21/16 11:11 pm

Hello everyone,

im new here to the group! I'm scheduled for gastric bypass with a large hiatal hernia repair with 30% of my stomach in a chest cavity near heart/left lung. 

my surgeon is not certain he can do the bypass until he gets inside, he said my stomach could be too "angry" and scared. I'm hoping someone else who has had this situation could give me some insight. As I'm very nervous, this is requiring two surgeons and possibility of more complications than a normal baratric routine. 

peachpie
on 3/22/16 3:42 am - Philadelphia, PA
RNY on 04/28/15

I had a "small" hiatal hernia repaired during my bypass. It wasn't detected until they started the surgery, it was fixed at that moment. 

Is your surgeon saying he may have to wait to do the bypass or may switch to the sleeve? not sure why this needs two surgeons either, first I've heard that. But then, I'm not a doctor.

5'6.5" High weight:337 Lowest weight:193/31 BMI: Goal: 195-205/31-32 BMI

H.A.L.A B.
on 3/22/16 4:08 am

If your stomach is bruised - inflamed , then the doc may need to wait until it gets better then cut it. You have a good doc. Better safe than sorry.. Good luck. 

Hala. RNY 5/14/2008; Happy At Goal =HAG

"I can eat or do anything I want to - as long as I am willing to deal with the consequences"

"Failure is not falling down, It is not getting up once you fell... So pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again...."

Melanie84
on 3/22/16 5:29 am

Thank you for the reply.

my first suregon I saw was November 30 I went jn for gastric sleeve, we knew there was a hernia but once he saw the size and location he discontinued the surgery. And recommended gastric bypass. Being cut open once already and now scheduled for a second time has me on edge! 

Darcy G.
on 3/22/16 5:48 am
VSG on 04/07/16

Hi Melanie,