Newbie: Fearful of denial and surgery

poet_kelly
on 2/7/16 1:19 pm - OH

No, they won't deny you due to having depression.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

(deactivated member)
on 2/7/16 3:22 pm - CA

Hi and welcome to OH!   You will find that everyone is pretty straight forward with their experience and their input.  It is what is so valuable about this site.   There should be no issues with you qualifying for surgery and your depression should not disqualify you.   Each of us at one point in time experienced depression.   

I think you have gotten a lot of great response to your post.  For me, RNY was the only choice because of my starting weight and the fact I like sweets.  I needed the dumping component of the surgery to help me stay on track.  The re-routing the my intestines was not a huge concern to me and it still is not.  I did have a vitamin deficiency (my own fault, not the surgery), but I am back on track    I am going to be 15 years post op this April.  

I think that no matter which surgery you choose, you need to realize that this surgery is a tool.  You have to work your tool, no matter which one it is to ensure you maximize your weight loss as well as maintain that weight loss.   Following your post op diet plan and cutting the carbs and sugar are the key to success.  

Nik

poplargreys
on 2/7/16 4:14 pm
VSG on 03/31/15