Newbie..... need support/advice

SydneyGirl81
on 2/7/16 12:15 am
RNY on 04/01/16

Hi all.....

This is my first time here, well ever posting on a forum. .. i need some advice from people who have some life experience with WLS.

I am in Australia and have the choice between VSG or RXY.

i need to make a decision on which procedure i would like in the next few days.

Can anyone kindly give me a list pro's and con's for each and any advice for a completely confused newbie...

Thanking you in advance 

RNY0615
on 2/7/16 5:30 am

It will help people answer your question to know your stats and have more info on your health if you don't mind sharing.  

Height,  weight?  Do you have GERD? Any vitamin/mineral deficiency issues? Anemia? Etc...

SydneyGirl81
on 2/7/16 10:45 am, edited 2/7/16 3:17 am
RNY on 04/01/16

Thank you for replying..

I am currently at 226 lbs, 5'7" and do not have gerd or any obesity related health issues.

I did have the band a few years ago.... i lost 88lbs during that time. I had complications with not being able to keep anything down and a rib fracture.. so i had it removed. Since then i jave gained 44lbs even though ive been watching every single calorie and exercising.

This has caused some serious emotional issues with my relationship with food... im basically scared to eat!

I did start optifast again last week, hoping to lose weight without sugery.... and did okay i lost 6lbs in 5 days.... so it seems i can lose weight.

My biggest concern is..... that after the drama of the band.... i am not sure if surgery is the best thing.... last thing i want ia to have the surgery... do well... then face complications a few years out.. just like i did with my band.... and be stuck with a lifetime of issues.

So... my choices are....

1. Suck it up and do opti long-term and see if i can maintain
  2. Get the sleeve or RXY and hope for the best
roxytrim
on 2/7/16 5:40 am - Cobourg, Canada
VSG on 04/12/13