Vsg surgery in Canada; where????

BodaciousB
on 1/5/16 2:00 pm - St.Johns , NL

I have been considering the vsg surgery for 9 months and researching it for the last two months. I have to say that it has proven very difficult and nearly impossible to turn up any information about this surgery in Canada. From just googling it, I only managed to find one; Smart Shape in Ontario (which quoted me for a whopping $19000). I have also asked my physician for help in regards to finding a surgeon here in Canada and he didn't have any knowledge-at all! 

Because of my difficulties here in Canada, I am considering having my surgery done in Mexico at the obesity control centre with Dr. Ariel Ortiz; he and the centre come highly recommended. I am comfortable with surgery itself but am scared to death of travelling to Tijuana across the US/Mexico border. The Canadian government has issued a travel advisory to avoid crossing land borders into Mexico as it is very dangerous. They say that if travelling to Mexico, to arrive by plane. 

My plan while in Mexico is to not venture outside-at all; only from vehicle to centre or hotel. My fear of being in and travelling to Mexico paralyses me, and I stops me from booking it. 

Does anyone have any advice on the Mexico situation or suggestions of places in Canada to have the surgery done that won't cost $19000??? 

Thanks in advance.

BB 

TrulyPhoenix
on 1/5/16 4:11 pm - Calgary, Canada

Hi BB, 

I'm surprised you even found a private clinic in Ontario that offers vsg!  In Canada you usually can only pay out of pocket to have the lap-band, if you want one of the other surgeries then it's done through provincial healthcare.  

From what I've found for Newfoundland, your family doctor needs to send a referral to one of the designated bariatric clinics through Eastern Health.  As long as you meet the qualifications for surgery, it's covered by provincial healthcare.