New Here - Informal Survey for Long-Timers

Lisa F.
on 12/31/15 11:48 am
VSG on 06/06/16

Thanks everyone! I'm very grateful that you took the time to reply and appreciate the honesty and supportive messages.

I'm seriously considering it and just yesterday met with a doctor, *****viewed my diet with me. She said it was clear that I had done a lot of work and would be a good candidate for surgery, but that she wants me to address the problem with my dinners first. This makes total sense to me, as I know I won't be successful until I get this piece under control.

I'm sure given the new year they'll be holding seminars, which I'll attend. I'm also a big researcher, so I'll certainly do my due diligence there.

Any other suggestions or source of information (websites, etc.) that you would suggest as I look into this? 

Thanks again and Happy New Year to all!

Eggface
on 12/31/15 3:30 pm - Sunny Southern, CA
hipswishingvinegarball
on 1/4/16 12:57 am

I did not make bad food choices, and have always been fairly active, and didn't do things like eat at buffets or much processed food. I had an efficient metabolism my entire life, and made it much more efficient by doing different very low cal fad diets (we have several in common), fasts and eating disorders - enough so that there was just no getting it to rebound back. I cranked up my activity lever for years trying to reset my metabolism, and only then managed to maintain, and still at severely restricted calories. I tried to change my lifestyle and anything else that could help (seriously, even things like turning the heat down to 60 and wearing tank tops to force my body to burn calories just to stay warm!). I put off surgery for many years, and it's my only regret about surgery.