First time posting

Becca_B
on 12/27/15 2:48 pm
RNY on 12/29/15

Hi everyone

This is my first time posting, but I have been lurking the boards for a few months now. Reading & searching the forums has been a great help! I have been overweight my entire life, chubby as a kid, chubby as a teen, and then obese my entire adult life.  I've tried a lot of things, like counting calories, working out, weigh****chers and I always had temporary success loosing some weight, but never even enough to get me to a healthy weight.  I am currently pre diabetic, but without any other health problems..yet. One of the things that helped me decide on surgery was knowing I was on a road that was going to lead to medical problems. I am 5 foot 7 and weighed 325 when I decided to contact a Dr. My highest weight so far. I am 36 and I'm now down to 309. I've gone through all the pre-surgery prep, Drs. appointments, and meetings, and I am currently on my 7 day pre-op diet. For my Dr. that means clear broth, SF popsicles and 6 carnation instant breakfast no sugar added shakes a day. Needless to say I am so over the damn sweet shakes, but I know this time will pass, and I have not cheated once. Christmas was hard as on Christmas Eve we had people over. It was a potluck type of thing so no one even noticed that I didn't partake. But Christmas was a sit down dinner at my in-laws and even though I said I was passing on food because I had not felt well, there was still that pressure to eat from a few people. It's funny how concerned other people can be about getting someone else to eat. But I made it through and its been way easier just keeping busy and sticking to my shakes without big holiday meals going on. I am currently on day 6, my RNY surgery is on Tuesday the 29th and I am nervous, excited, and every other emotion. I have never had surgery before, so that part makes me extra nervous.  I have decided not to tell a lot of people about it. My husband and sister are the only people that know and