want surgery. advice.

alishak
on 12/9/15 9:06 pm

Hello. This is my first post on this site. I am interested in having wls.  Ive been researching here and there for probably two years. Not until just recently have i been really really trying to figure out what i want. And i think i have found that. But i want to know from other people who have had wls. Advice on what made you choose the risks of the surgery vs. The risks of not having it. Basically im completely terrified. I am reading tons of forums. And blogs. Videos. Of lots of good outcomes. But then there are the bad outcomes. And they are scaring the living crap out of me.  I actually have two people who are close to me who have had wls. One who has had problems just this past year. She had surgery like 15-17 years ago. And this past year had an intestinal blockage and was in the hospital for over a month and it was really sketchy for a little bit whether she was gonna make it. I feel like i cant find any concrete studies either. Every page i visit has different statistics.  Ok yea total anxiety over here. Advice please!!  

Eggface
on 12/10/15 4:24 am - Sunny Southern, CA

I had weight loss surgery 9 years ago, my 158 pound weight loss resolved all my health issues severe Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease, Obstructive Sleep Apnea, High Blood Pressure, and a host of other issues. I am off all 8 medications I was on prior to surgery. Best decision I ever made. Zero regrets, would do it again in a heartbeat.

Hope this helps explain my why's more: http://theworldaccordingtoeggface.blogspot.com/2013/11/life-after-weight-loss-surgery-q-a.html and http://theworldaccordingtoeggface.blogspot.com/2015/09/life- after-weight-loss-surgery-q-a_7.html 

FYI the mortality rate is 0.10%, (Journal of the American College of Surgeons) safer than gallbladder removal, one of the most routine surgical procedures in America and some more data... http://www.medscape.org/viewarticle/721429_4