Pre-Surgery...anyone else just starting out?

dmb1024
on 9/17/15 5:57 am
RNY on 04/11/16

I am just starting out, I will have my first month weight check next week! I am nervous I wont lose enough weight in my first month. The first 2 weeks were tough on me, I am finally getting on track now and plan to do much better here on out. How much weight would the nutritionist be happy with seeing lost??? I know everyone is different.

I just went to my first appointment with my doctor this week, I was there for 2 hours Should I start making all my testing appointments now?? I am on a 6 month diet plan.

Hoping to find some people to talk to through out this journey, I don't really have anyone that I can talk to that has been though or is going through this!

MsBatt
on 9/17/15 8:15 am

Have you researched the Big Three (VSG/Sleeve, RNY/gastric bypass, and DS/duodenal switch) forms of WLS, and decided which one is best for you? That's really what you need to be doing during this enforced waiting period.

I wouldn't schedule testing just yet. You'll want those tests done closer to surgery time.

dmb1024
on 9/17/15 8:27 am
RNY on 04/11/16

Yes, I have already done that a while ago, and discussed with all the doctors that I saw earlier this week. I want to get the RNY. I was looking at my papers and it says to schedule as soon as possible? I did schedule my Gyno visit and they cant even take me until late November, so I am just afraid if I don't call for appointments, I might not get everything done within the 6 months.

Heather P.
on 9/17/15 2:06 am, edited 9/17/15 2:06 am

I am also just starting out.  I had my first appt with nutritionist last month and I go in for my 2nd appt on Sept 23rd.  I am very nervous and anxious! My papers say to schedule the psych eval after my 2nd NUT appt. then everything else is closer to the surgery date.  I know the next 6 months is going to drag but I need this 6 months to get my eating under control.

dmb1024
on 9/17/15 9:46 am