To share or not to share my decision for WLS

NewMe2016
on 9/8/15 1:52 pm

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to this. I have my WLS scheduled for 10/12/15. I am having the gastric sleeve done.  So far I have only shared my decision to do this with one person, my mother. She is the one person who supports me in all my life decisions without passing judgement.  

I am having difficulty sharing this with my 2 sisters, my father (who has ever since I can remember has been weight critical of everyone) and my friends who I feel will judge my decision.  I feel bad keeping this from family especially and a few friends but can't begin to think of a way to share it with them without them judging me or being over critical assuming this is an easy way out. I know I cannot be the only one going through this decision on keeping it to myself and am looking for some feedback or stories on how you may have handled it. Right now I am probably only going to share my news AFTER it is already done, maybe when someone says "wow you look good"

Thank you in advance for you guidance. I'm so excited, scared and hopeful. I just wish I could share my roller-coaster of emotions with the people I care about too.

Surgery 10/12/15 20 lbs lost 108 more to go

Rjoy
on 9/8/15 3:24 pm

I also struggled with that decision since I'm a private person anyway.  I chose to not share with everyone and only shared with those that I thought would be supportive.  The choice is wide open for you and do what you feel is right for you.  :)  

Heather L.
on 9/8/15 3:30 pm - Coquitlam, Canada
VSG on 03/26/15

I never had any intention of keeping it a long term secret, but I did have a very slow and gradual "roll out" of the information.