Advice on changing therapists?

Pokemom
on 8/24/15 8:04 am
RNY on 12/29/14

Hello, friends!  So many of you seem very savvy in navigating the mental health world, that I thought I would ask you:

I have been working with a therapist for about 18 months, for personal and family things.  I have appreciated her help, especially her listening to me during a genuine crisis.  However, several months ago, I also worked with a different therapist in some family sessions.  (Yes, it has been quite a year for our family.) I really liked working with this second therapist, felt a real connection to her and appreciated her approaches to things, and have thought a lot that I might make better progress with her than with the first one I started with.  So, now that my family is not working with the second one any more, and has not for many months, I would like to change to work with the second one as my main therapist.  

I am conflicted about this, because I feel some loyalty to the first.  The first one has shared some of her own life with me, and I do not want to be hurtful in discontinuing that relationship.  I know it should be a professional relationship.  I should seek what is best for me.  I know it is a little self-involved to imagine that a professional might feel slighted if I stopped seeing her. Also, I am not certain that the second one is best for me, but I continue to feel that she might be, even after many months of continuing to work with the first one.

What is a good way for me to approach this potential transition?  What should I consider?  if I change, how do I do that appropriately and kindly? Thanks for any thoughts.

(deactivated member)
on 8/24/15 9:37 am

The other therapist may not want to take you on as a one on one. Since you have worked with her with other family issues. I would ask to speak to her about that first and go from there. 

Pokemom
on 8/25/15 2:58 pm
RNY on 12/29/14

I wondered about that.  Thanks for your advice.

lynnc99