why surgery

MJSmith
on 7/17/15 10:28 am

hi. I am pre op for the sleeve. I was wondering.bif I can eat this small amount all the time. why do I need surgery.

Gwen M.
on 7/17/15 11:54 am
VSG on 03/13/14

Well... I know I couldn't eat 8 ounces of food plus a protein shake every day and feel any sort of satisfaction. I'd have been hungry and miserable all the time, given up, and gorged myself. 

With the sleeve, I've been eating that way for 16 months 90% of the time and definitely don't feel hungry and miserable!

VSG with Dr. Salameh - 3/13/2014
Diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and started Vyvanse - 7/22/2016
Reconstructive Surgeries with Dr. Michaels - 6/5/2017 (LBL & brachioplasty), 8/14/2017 (UBL & mastopexy), 11/6/2017 (medial leg lift)

Age 42 Height 5'4" HW 319 (1/3/2014) SW 293 (3/13/2014) CW 149 (7/16/2017)
Next Goal 145 - normal BMI | Total Weight Lost 170

TrendWeight | Food Blog (sort of functional) | Journal (down for maintenance)

GeekMonster, Insolent Hag
on 7/17/15 11:57 am - CA
VSG on 12/19/13

How has eating small quantities worked for you in the past?  Have you lost weight?  Have you kept it off or gained it back, plus more?

The sleeve propagates several metabolic changes that dieting cannot.  For example, it removes the section of the stomach that produces ghrelin, the hunger hormone.  Most people who have the sleeve do not feel intense hunger, or any real physical hunger, after surgery.

I don't know your background, weight or situation so it's difficult to answer why you need surgery.

"Oderint Dum Metuant"    Discover the joys of the Five Day Meat Test!

Height:  5'-7"  HW: 449  SW: 392  GW: 179  CW: 220

Y D.
on 7/17/15 1:24 pm
VSG on 01/19/15 with

if i could have, I would have. even rx appetite suppressants did not help me for the long haul. I needed to try everything, and hit "rock bottom" before I made the surgery decision, but that's just me. when I hopped up on that table, I was ready.

crystal M.