What will I need to get back into U.S.

kami_c04
on 2/19/15 3:20 pm

I am scheduled to have surgery for my VGS in Juarez MX through Belite on March 6 2015. I will be flying to El Paso from Dallas, This is my first time flying much less leaving the state or country. Does anyone know what all documents are going to be required for reentry into the United States? And does anyone know how safe it is down there regarding the cartel? Thank You

MickeyDee
on 2/19/15 4:06 pm

Your passport and photo I.D. should be sufficient.  You might ask whomever you arranged the trip with for this info just to be sure.

I'm not familiar with "the cartel" but I'm sure that if you avoid taking packages from strangers you probably won't have too many problems.

Valerie G.
on 2/19/15 9:28 pm - Northwest Mountains, GA

Don't try to do anything without a passport.  That alone should get you in and out without a problem. 

As for any local dangers, just be smart, stick to known safe areas and don't wander alone.  You'll not be in any condition to explore, anyway.  Let the airline know ahead of time that you're returning fron a surgical procedure and they can have a wheelchair ready for you on both ends.

Valerie
DS 2005

There is room on this earth for all of God's creatures..
next to the mashed potatoes

Vivian Prouty
on 2/19/15 10:23 pm - Fort Worth, TX

I know if you don't have a passport you will need your drivers license.   Is surgery that much cheaper in Mexico?   Most bariatric surgeon's now offer a cash price if you have no insurance or if it isn't covered.    I know lots that have had surgery in Mexico but you will need after care after the surgery and not sure how you will handle that.   Good luck to you and you will be in my prayers on that day.

Hugs and blessings ~~~ Vivian

GOD GRANT ME THE SERENITY TO ACCEPT THE THINGS I CAN NOT CHANGE;   COURAGE TO CHANGE THE THINGS THAT I CAN;  AND THE WISDOM TO KNOW THE DIFFERENCE !!!!    THIS IS MY DAILY PRAYER.