Reality Check

Nich_R
on 2/23/15 3:31 pm

I'm just getting started with all of my requirements for surgery. I'm hoping to be sleeved in July or August. Some days that seems like so far away but then other days I'm thankful to have time to really digest all of the information I can and prepare myself (as much as one can for the unknown) before then. Last night I took before pictures so I can document my journey through photographs. After the pictures were taken, I was afraid to look so I put it off until tonight. WOW! How depressing and eye opening. It's not like I didn't know I was overweight. I know how much I weigh, I know what size my clothes are, and I catch a glimpse of myself in the mirror now and again. It's funny how you can look in the mirror every day to get ready but not really be looking at yourself. I can't believe I'm the person in these photos. How did I let myself get so out of control? I know I'm doing something about it. I know I'm about to embark on a life-changing journey. But wow oh wow are these pictures a huge dose of reality.

Thank you for reading. Sometimes just knowing there are people reading this that can relate can make this process seem a little less lonely.

Nichole

glady
on 2/23/15 4:39 pm