BIRTH CONTROL?!!

NorthernHusky
on 2/16/15 10:52 pm

Hey Everyone,

so I had my surgery June 16th 2014, and at one month post opp I started on the DEPO SHOT, I seen that my weight loss slowed, but not a lot. *NOW THIS IS PERSONAL..so if you are a dude, who isn't comfortable with "girlie issues" please stop reading.

I bled heavily for the first month, and spotted for weeks after. I felt like a total psycho the whole time. MEGA MOOD SWINGS. but after the bleeding stopped, I didn't mind the mood swings. after my second injection, I was fine, but still moody. This last injection I got (every 90 days) has made me PMS the whole time. Cravings and moody and LOTS of bleeding, which is AWFUL for people trying to keep their iron levels up.

i am due for another injection in March, and needless to say, i am not sure i want to continue with DEPO. i do NOT want to get pregnant, as i am still in my first year, an losing weight...

what method do you think is best?

i do not want an IUD or Coil of any kind...

and i was advised not to use the pill.. for absorbency issues...

BUT i was wondering if i used the pill, AND used a condom.. not the whole time.. more so at the end.. SORRY... i know its a TMI, but seriously... what are your thoughts?

Gastric Bypass June 16th 2014

Highest weight: 356
Surgery weight: 347
Current Weight: 224
Goal Weight: 180

Gwen M.
on 2/17/15 1:42 am
VSG on 03/13/14

This sounds like a question for your surgeon - I don't know about the absorbency of the pill with your surgery.  I assume you had RNY?  

I do know that precum can have sperm in it, so just using a condom before *********** will do nothing.  

VSG with Dr. Salameh - 3/13/2014
Diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and started Vyvanse - 7/22/2016
Reconstructive Surgeries with Dr. Michaels - 6/5/2017 (LBL & brachioplasty), 8/14/2017 (UBL & mastopexy), 11/6/2017 (medial leg lift)

Age 42 Height 5'4" HW 319 (1/3/2014) SW 293 (3/13/2014) CW 149 (7/16/2017)