Questions about the sleeve!

RNKrisi
on 1/1/15 1:31 am

Hi!

I am scheduled to have the sleeve done on 1.21.15,  can those of you who have had this particular surgery please tell me what your experience has been?  How much weight have you lost?  AND what foods do you NOT tolerate any more?  Can most of you guys eat red meat?  Fresh veggies like broccoli?  Pineapple?  Thanks for your help!

I am actually a nurse at a bariatric center of excellence and care for bariatric surgery patients daily, but I never get to hear about what happens long term.  I am 5ft 5inches and about 215 pounds, a BMI of just over 35, is there anyone out there who had similar numbers that could share there experience with me I'd appreciate it!

Thanks!

Krisi

Julia HasHerLifeNow
on 1/1/15 6:28 am
VSG on 10/09/12

Hi Krisi

I had the sleeve a little over two years ago. I was 209 the day of surgery and 222 was my highest weight. I am now between 120 and 125 lbs and am 5 ft. I had no complications and no intolerances. I eat lots of red meat. No problems at all.

good luck with your sleeve!

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com 5ft0; highest weight 222; surgery weight 208; current weight 120

Gwen M.
on 1/1/15 6:45 am
VSG on 03/13/14

You might consider checking out the VSG forums -- http://www.obesityhelp.com/forums/vsg/

I'm 9 months post-op and I've lost 125 pounds this year.  About 25 was pre-op due to the lifestyle modifications I started in January, the rest has been post-op.  (Woah.  I just realized, while typing this, that I've lost 100 pounds since surgery.  WOO!!)  

I can eat anything - this is one of the reasons I chose VSG actually.  I haven't had a problem with anything aside from some salmon that was overcooked and dry.  Moist foods are much easier to eat than dry ones!  I eat red meat on a regular basis - steaks, roasts, ground beef, you name it.  I eat fish, pork, chicken, etc.  Chicken breasts can be challenging sometimes because they can be dry if not prepared correctly.